Recipe for Sunehri Kanchipuram Idli


South Indian food is everyone’s favorite and they are always high on demand in every Indian restaurant. I also love South Indian food for its taste and for its healthy variant. Today’s recipe which I am going to share with you all is Idli which is my favorite because it’s tasty and healthy as well. I like Dosa same as Idli whose recipe I’ll share in my later posts.

One of my friends is South Indian and she is my best friend too since early days of my high school. We studied together for 10 years. She belongs to Kerala and I think her Idlis are best of all Idlis that I have tasted till now. Though now I have started making Idlis far better than earlier I used to. And now they can also be said good comparable to them.

In my school days, I always felt really sad for her on the days when she used to bring Idlis and coconut chutney in her lunch and they got vanished in few minutes of time. Instead of eaten by my friend, other friends attacked on lunched and gobbled all the stuff. Sometimes she got engaged into deals with other classmates that next day she would be bringing idlis in lunch and at the stake of Idlis other classmate’s lunch would be given to her.

In my post I’ll be telling you the recipe of Kanchipuram Idlis that is slight different from usual Idlis. I call them Sunehri Kanchipuram Idli because of their golden texture. Kanchipuram is a city in Tamilnadu ( state of India in south). It is city of temples and famous for sarees too. They are fluffy spongy steamed Ricecookies with tangy flavor of yogurt, crunchiness of nuts & coconut and fluffiness due to steaming. They are served with Sambhar and Green chutney of coriander and coconut. Sunehri Kanchipuram Idlis are smaller in size, made with nuts and yogurt and are yellow due to Turmeric.

Sunehri kanchipuram idli

Recipe-

Time Taken- 18-20 hrs for preparation, 15 minutes in cooking

Servings-4

Category- Main Course

Ingredients

Rice-3 cups soaked overnight

Urad dal (split black gram)- 1 cup soaked overnight

Cumin seeds-1/2 small tsp

Turmeric Powder– ½ large tsp

Cashew nuts– 8 chopped

Almonds (peeled off) – 4 chopped

Yogurt-1&1/2 cup

Fresh Coconut (grated) – 1 tbsp

Salt-to-taste (1 tsp mainly low amt.)

Oil-1 tbsp and for greasing

Special Items required-

Idli moulds/moulder

Steamer

Steps to follow-

  1. Grind the soaked rice and urad dal into a fine paste and mix well. Keep the mixture aside for another 6-8 hrs to get well fermented.
  2. Take oil in a pan and warm it a little and add cumin seeds to crackle.
  3. Now add turmeric powder, cashew nuts & almonds just to warm and cook for a while.
  4. Finally turn off the flame and add grated coconut, yogurt and salt.
  5. Transfer this mixture to ground paste of rice and urad dal. Mix well.
  6. Grease the moulds and fill this mixture into the moulds and put it in steamer or pressure cooker filled with water at the bottom when steam is intense wearing gloves to avoid burn due to steam .
  7. Let them steam cooked for 10-15 min with covered lid.
  8. Take Idlis out of moulds carefully without breaking. Mark round the edges with knife and scoop out the idlis well carefully.
  9. Serve with Chutney or Sāmbhar.

    Sunehri kanchipuram idli
Sunehri kanchipuram idli with sambhar

Recipe for Sambhar is awaited and will be shared in my next post!

Tips- It is important that you place moulder of idli into steamer when steam has been formed and steam is intense. This will make idlis fluffier. That I am saying from my experience.

Hope you liked the recipe…. Keep trying & discovering new recipes; keep liking and sharing!

Happy Cooking, Eating and Blogging!

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

would love to hear from you :)

