Recipe for Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry


Adapting to a new taste is slight difficult. This I am saying with my experience as I am still combating with the flavor of mushrooms to find a yearning place for them in my platter. I am still exploring to find some delicious dishes of mushrooms. I know many of you must be fans of mushrooms and love to have mushrooms in your meal.

But here in India or say in some parts of India, mushrooms have gained popularity during these last eight to ten years according to best of my memory or knowledge, if I say. And usage of mushrooms is very confined to some of the frequently desired dishes like mushroom curry, mushroom malai, kadhai mushroom, mushroom masala, mushroom omelet etc. mushrooms are also being used in risotto, a famous Italian dish getting popular here now.

Recently I got to know about some interesting fact about mushrooms which I came across while surfing through some info site that in Egypt, it was thought to be a food of Gods. And only kings had right to eat them and lower strata people remained devoid of mushrooms. They were believed to impart super human’s power. First ever usage of mushrooms started in France and later it became popular in China, Japan, Russia, Europe and then Asia.

As I said Adapting to a new taste is a bit difficult. This I experienced transforming myself from eggitarian to non vegetarian. In my early childhood days our meals started with veg cuisines and used to end with eggitarian recipes. There was no place for non veg dishes. Though we can be said non vegetarian and there was no prohibition in eating non veg but it was never cooked in our kitchen; the reason was that my grand ma was a strict vegan. And she had problem cooking non veg in a strict vegan’s kitchen. But later I got accustomed to non vegetarian taste when I started eating non veg recipes on different occasions at my relatives’ places. After a lot of requests to my grand ma, she allowed us to cook non veg recipes in her kitchen.  Every time when I cook something non veg she always raises eyebrowsJ; still I think every taste must be on your platter so I try everything, watching my grand ma’s lovely face with eyebrow raised ;)…. I love it ( just kidding)

When I first cooked mushrooms at home; she asked me you are again going to cook something non veg! I was little surprised seeing her asking this. She believes that it’s non veg coz it is meaty and fleshy and also is a kind of fungus. So most vegans have problems eating mushrooms and they avoid them.

I know mushrooms are very nutritious and should have a desirable place in platter. They are rich source of potassium and other trace elements. Mushrooms grown exposed to UV rays are rich source of vitamin D and other vitamins too like thiamine, riboflavin, ascorbic acid etc. Along with nutrients, when it blends with Indian spices. It tastes delicious. Now developing taste for them in desi Indian style. One such recipe of mushrooms blended in Indian spices is Kadhai (Wok) Mushroom Masala Curry.

Button Mushrooms
Button Mushrooms

I think now it’s enough of talking now. Let’s get on with the recipe of Kadhai Mushroom Masala curry, which was my first recipe of mushrooms, later I tried many others which I’ll update in later posts.

Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry
Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry

Recipe

Time Taken-20 min

Servings-4

Category- Main Course

Ingredients

Button Mushrooms- ½ pack/ 150g (chopped)

Green Capsicum– 2 medium (chopped)

Cumin seeds– 1 tsp

Turmeric Powder– ½ large tsp

Coriander Powder- 1 large tsp

Red chilly powder- 1 tsp

Ginger garlic paste- 1 tbsp

Blend spice (Garam masala) – ½ tsp

Tomato puree– of 3 tomatoes

Dried Fenugreek leaves- 1large tsp

Salt- to taste

Oil- 2 tbsp

Steps to Follow-

Preparation-

 

  1. Heat oil in a wok (as it is named kadhai mushroom masala curry, it will be prepared in wok as thick dry curry), add cumin seeds to crackle.
  2. Add ginger garlic paste and sauté on low flame. Keep sautéing while adding powdered spices. Make sure it is on low flame and spices don’t stick to bottom.
  3. Now add tomato puree when spices are done and sauté until it starts leaving oil from sides.Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry.
  4. At this stage put into capsicums and mushrooms together like I did or first add capsicums to cook until soft yet crunchy; then add mushrooms & season with salt and cook lid covered with occasional stirring until they soften and get cooked & coated well with spice mixture (Latter method will help in keeping mushrooms in the desired form instead of dissolving in the curry while cooking).Seasoning will help in leaving water from vegetables and mushrooms and they will be cooked soft in their water, you can add more water to cook vegetables thoroughly, if required.
  5. Turn off the flame and Mix dried fenugreek leaves in the curry and stir well for blending.
  6. Serve hot with breads/ rotis.

    Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry
    Kadhai Mushroom Masala Curry

Enjoy making and eating mushrooms in a desi style and desi Indian version, The Kadhai (wok) version.

Keep liking, commenting and sharing!

One Comment Add yours

would love to hear from you :)

