Badami Shahi Tukda (Royal Almonds Breads Dessert)


Shahi Tukda (literary means Royal Piece) as its name suggests has royal indulgence. It has got its origin from Pakistan and is a well known dessert of Mughlai cuisine. It is similar to another delicacy called Double ka Meetha. Both are similar with slight difference.

Badami Shahi Tukda
Badami Shahi Tukda

This Valentine’s week, I had a craving for some dessert. It reminded me of Shahi Tukda which my mom used to tell me, was the first ever dessert she tried to cook in her Home- Science Practical. I didn’t have home science as my subject so I can’t tell you which was my first ever dish I cooked during my schooldays. I think I started cooking with tea, very basic oneJ or might be maggi, don’t remember at all.

Well it was Shahi Tukda which I decided to make for dessert. As it’s Valentine’s week and Valentine’s day was 2 days away, I could smell the love in the air. And I could not resist myself from making Shahi Tukda with a Valentine’s touch. I shaped Shahi Tukdas in heart shaped (instead of triangular), garnished them with rose petals and were smelling rosy due to rose essence. They were just looking a perfect Valentine’s Day dessert.

Shahi Tukda includes fried sweet syrupy soaked triangular breads topped with rabdi (rabdi is nothing but milk having sugar and saffron reduced to ¾) and few dry fruits.

My Badami Shahi Tukda is similar to original one but I wanted to make it Valentine’s Special so it has slight difference. It is named Badami Shahi Tukda so it has Saffron almonds (Badam)-ganache similar to Rabdi but is thicker and has almonds as one of the two main ingredients other than milk. Other than this difference, it has variation in shape. Just these two differences, else it has same scrumptious lip-smacking flavor. You can serve it at room temperature or refrigerated. I find it very scrummy when served refrigerated.

I just can’t wait now, let’s get on to the recipe quickly-

Recipe

Time Taken- 45 min

Servings- 6-8

Category- Dessert

Ingredients

White Breads-8

Milk- ½ litre

Almonds- ¾ cup (blanched)

Sugar- 1½ cup+ 2 tbsp

Saffron- few strands

Green cardamom Powder- 1tsp

Rose essence- 1 tsp

Water- 1½ cup

Oil- for deep frying

Rose Petals- to garnish

Heart shaped mould cutter

Steps to follow-

  1. Grind blanched almonds to a paste (coarsely ground would be fine).
  2. Take milk in a deep pan and boil. When it comes to boil, add almonds paste, saffron, 2 tbsp of sugar and keep stirring to reduce it to ½ (ensure you scratch the milk sticking to sides of pan and stirring it continuously to avoid sticking to pan.Reducing may take 2-25 min). Finally add cardamom powder. Badami Rabadi or Saffron Almonds ganache is ready. Either refrigerate or cool it at room temp.
  3. While milk was getting reduced, get you sugar syrup ready. Mix 1½ cup of sugar in 1½ cup of water and heat it for 8-10 min. Remove from heat and cool adding Rose essence in it.
  4. With the help of mould cutter cut breads into heart shaped.
  5. Heat oil for frying. Fry these hearts until golden brown.
  6. Soak these fried hearts in sugar syrup for 10-15 min to absorb all syrupy sweetness.
  7. Now its final pace to give finishing to our dessert. Take a serving platter, put one syrup soaked heart and spread saffron almonds ganache on it in heart shape. Top it with other syrup soaked heart. Likewise make all heart shaped badami shahi tukdas.
  8. Serve chilled badami shahi tukda garnished with rose petals.

Deck up your Valentine’s Day menu with Badami Shahi Tukda.

Related articles

One Comment Add yours

would love to hear from you :)

