Chilli Chicken


Chilli Chicken
Chilli Chicken

Chilli chicken is a popular Indo-chinese dish and my favorite too. When I first tried it at one of the nearby restaurants, I was finding its taste similar to manchurian, it was having near to same gravy base as that of manchurian, it might be because of  both having same origin. As per my habit of nature, I was thinking to try Chilli Chicken at home after having it there… but before that I had Chilli Paneer in list of trials that was going pending. I thought to try Chilli Paneer first……. following one bookmarked recipe of Chilli Paneer made me feel disappointed at its results….. It was lacking the original flavor of Chilli Paneer. The flavor that came out after mixing of corn starch in gravy, in some inappropriate ratio spoiled its flavor… tasting that flavor didn’t allow me to think of making it again for many days after :).

But later when I was craving for some non-veg in meal, I thought to reach upon my next roll numbered dish on trial list. It was Chilli Chicken.
My cousin friend is a huge fan of Chinese cuisine. She was asking me for long to prepare some Chinese dish on her arrival for some feast. She informed me that she is reaching at my place on the very same day when I was about to try Chilli Chicken. Hence I included this Indo-chinese dish along with the very known and everyone’s favourite Chinese noodles with lots of Chinese vegetables.
This time I didn’t want that bitter experience of Chilli Paneer to be repeated here in Chilli Chicken; thus keeping basic recipe intact with some add-ons I omitted the later inclusion of corn-starch in gravy. And I used corn starch only in marination earlier during the process. Keeping my fingers crossed, I moved on with steps and dish came out well finally. Being a Chinese fan, she liked it much with fried szechwan rice but I prefer it eating with naans or Tandoori roti. Chilli ChickenHere I have presented the Dry version of Chilli Chicken, you can also make it medim-stocked version by adding a bit greater stock in the recipe.

Recipe-

Time Taken- For Preparation- 1to 2 hr or minimum 30 min
                       For Cooking- 45 min
Servings- 4
Category- Main -Course (curry)

Ingredients-

Chicken- 350g (boneless, diced, and washed)
Capsicum- 1 big (deseeded and diced)
Red bell pepper- 1 medium (optional, I had so included, deseeded and diced)
Soy sauce- 1tbsp
Corn flour- 1tbsp
All purpose flour- 1tbsp
Pepper- 1tsp
Egg-1
Ginger Paste-1/2 tbsp
Garlic Paste- 1/2 tbsp
Green chilli sauce- 1 tbsp
Onion-2 chopped
Shallots-2 halved
Garlic cloves- 7 (minced and crushed)
Red chilli flakes- 1 &1/2 tsp
Synthetic vinegar- 1 tbsp
Green chillies- 4 long slits
Sugar- 1 pinch
Salt- to taste
Oil- 2tbsp + for frying

Steps to follow-

1. Marinate washed chicken pieces in corn flour, all-purpose flour, 1/2 tsp of pepper, egg, 1/2 of soy sauce, ginger and garlic paste, and green chilli sauce and small amount of salt. Let that rest for one hour or two.
2. Now heat oil in a deep-frying pan and fry these chicken pieces until they turn opaque, get tender and acquire a light brown tinge.(If you have marinade left in the marinating dish, use it later during cooking of curry). Drain the fried chicken pieces on an absorbent paper and keep aside.
3. Take oil in the same deep pan to heat up to smoking point, put in minced garlic and chilli flakes to splutter and get them sautéed a bit.
4. Add chopped onions and sauté until soft.
5. Now add shallots,capsicum and bell pepper to get fried and tender. At this stage if needed sprinkle some water to let the veggies soften.
6. Incorporate some green chillies and season it with vinegar, remaining pepper, pinch of sugar, remaining soy sauce and salt.
7. Finally add chicken pieces along with marinade, if any. And give it whole a good stir to combine all ingredients well.You can add 1/2- 1 cup of stock and let that simmer for few minutes until required consistency is obtained for dry chilli chicken. If you want medium stocked consistency, reduce it accordingly.
8. Serve hot garnished with greens of coriander or spring onion.

Chilli Chicken
Chilli Chicken
 Related Articles

Chicken Tikka masala

Recipe for Butter Chicken

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Preveena says:

    I love Indo- Chinese dish any day. It suits our palette so well. Love the colours on the veggies, so fresh looking with a nice crunch.

    1. shobhnaa says:

      Thank you for liking it……. me too like Indo-Chinese! still there is a room left to perfection in my cooking of Indo-Chinese,restaurant like!

would love to hear from you :)

