Kathal-Pakode (Jackfruit-Fritters)


First of all a very Happy Mother’s Day to all.

Here I am with one of my committed posts, about which I gave reference in the post of Kathal-Kofta. So if you had read that post, you might know that the recipe I am going to share in this post of Kathal Pakode that this one is my mom’s special. And because of that I am sharing this mother’s special on the special occasion of Mother’s Day. This one is also special as these fritters only made jackfruit my favorite vegetable long ago only in my childhood. In those days I used to gobble them up lots without any grudge. But nowadays, you know how health conscious I am 😉 so I think at least once before munching on the whole lot as they are deep fried. But when they are cooked and get served, I find it hard to resist because I love their flavor; simply spicy munchy coating teaming up perfectly with fleshy, meaty, softly cooked jackfruit.Kathal-Pakode (Jackfruit-Fritters)

Writing about these jackfruit fritters reminded me one instance; when one friend of my neighbor friend came to play with me at my home during summer vacation. While we were playing, my mom served these snacks to us. Seeing those fritters served, she got a strange stare at them. After few seconds of thought she asked me hastily, “Is it fish”? 🙂 This question made me feel so amused but didn’t let that amusement appear on my face. 🙂 I said “No…. It’s Kathal”. She didn’t know even what Kathal is. Then I assured it’s vegetable called Jackfruit, no non-veg. But she couldn’t believe me. Actually in its appearance, jackfruit fritters were resembling fish fritters and her no clue about jackfruit confirmed her doubt for it. I was pretty mature enough to understand that jackfruit was not a popular vegetable in her family.

She was from Brahmin family, pure vegan. And assume a situation; a pure vegan served with a non veg dish in the hosting meal. Yeah… totally panicking one for the vegan. She didn’t take even a single bite and directly headed towards her home due the fear of her mom’s scolding if she took even if one. 🙂

Though behind serving jackfruit in such form, was not to hurt the sentiments of a vegan but I and even my mom didn’t know that she would not know jackfruit and would transform a veg dish into non veg.

Well in small world of children only games and playing have their existence not complex vegetables 🙂 . However I was also a child those days but you know everyone can’t be so knowledgeable like me. Isn’t it? ;). Actually I knew of jackfruit very well as it was a frequently cooked vegetable in the season.

So this was some unusual thing happened to this deliciously innocent vegetarian dish long ago but got recalled now when I started to write about it.

As far as this recipe is concerned, it is very simple and easy carrying very simple spices. The more with simple its recipe appears, the more delicious it tastes.Kathal-Pakode (Jackfruit-Fritters)

So here I go with the simple recipe of delicious Jackfruit Fritters.

 

Recipe-

Time Taken- For Preparation- 2-3hrs

                       For Cooking- 15-20 min

Servings-4

Category- Snacks/Appetizers

 

Ingredients-

Jackfruit- 250g (peeled and cut in pieces) Jackfruit must NOT be ripe or sweet or not even baby jackfruit. It should be semi ripe with not too thick fibers.

Rice-3/4 cup

Turmeric-1 tsp

Red chilli Powder- 1 tsp

Ginger Paste- 1 small tsp

Garlic Paste- 1 small tsp

Dry Mango Powder- 1/2 tsp

Salt-to taste

Oil- to deep fry

Steps to follow-

  1. Wash and soak rice for 2-3 hrs.
  2. Meanwhile boil peeled and cut jackfruits with small amount of salt until they get tender or for 4 whistles in pressure cooker
  3. Drain jackfruit pieces and put them aside.
  4. Drain the soaked rice and grind it smooth adding some water.
  5. Take out ground rice in a bowl and mix other remaining ingredients i.e. turmeric, red chilli powder, ginger paste, garlic paste, dry mango powder and salt.
  6. Add water as required to get the batter consistency of coating.
  7. Now heat oil in a fryer or wok for deep frying.
  8. Meanwhile quickly start coating jackfruit pieces in the batter wholly.
  9. Throw in these coated pieces one by one in the heating oil carefully from side of the wok.
  10. Fry each piece turning time to time so that they get all over & drain out over a kitchen towel when they acquire golden brown color.
  11. Serve hot as snacks with any sauce or dip of your choice. You can also take it as side dish for Pooris or flat-breads (It tastes nice with pooris but I like it to have it as a snack even with no need of any dip).Kathal-Pakode (Jackfruit-Fritters)

Note-

1. If you want to prepare instant Jackfruit fritters, you can go for using rice flour  for making batter in place of soaking rice for 3 hours and then grinding for batter. (But freshly prepared ground rice batter is recommended and would be more apt for more flavorsome taste).

As this post is on the occasion of Mother’s Day. I’d like to dedicate a song to my mom and as a dedication to motherhood from all kids.

This is a song “Tu Kitni Achhi hai”, the most heard song of my childhood’s Children Special Cassette. The movie of this song is “Raja aur Rank”, too old 1968 B&W movie. I have not seen it but this song is depicting special feelings of a kid for his mom. Originally it is in child’s voice in the film but I found the song submitted on soundcloud is in mature male voice, which is also very soulful in hearing.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Chance Wanderer says:

    😥

would love to hear from you :)

